Before I let Go 7/9/09

Greg Lamarche
Magic In your Fingers Greg Lamarche 2007

  • Western contemporary art aesthetics have a hard colonizing effect on the way artists around the world are creating work. I’ve seen this first hand in the realm of “Street Art/Grafitti” when artists that have absolutely no credibility in the world of graff become proclaimed the next great “street” god. (via TAN)
  • ” You can’t just stick with one thing. You have to let your natural style come through, and paint what you naturally like to paint.”
    “Why are you so into Southwestern patterns?”
    ” I just like them. I don’t know. I would like to make a rug. I don’t think they are that hard to make. I have seen them do it. They shoot one spool of string through this frame, then they close it and shoot another one across.” Mark Gonzalez can’t stick to just one thing as he prepares for his upcoming solo at Half gallery (via interview)
  • we also need to recognize the times in our life when we’ve allowed ourselves to become too much of a slave to our data stream.” Uhmm, dude I don’t understand what you mean. It’s not good to spend hours everyday scouring the internet for picayune. (via Bygone Bureau)
  • A QnA with the director of the must see documentary Soul Power
  • All I need is Love
  • Leave a comment

    Filed under artists, digest, music, video, visual art

    Leave a comment